9th Assembly: Speaker inaugurates Agric committees

Speaker of the Nigeria House of Representatives, Femi Gbajabiamila has inaugurated two agricultural committees of the 9th House of Representatives on Wednesday.

The two committees with agricultural Terms of Reference (ToR) were; the Agricultural Colleges and Institutions Committee, headed by Hon. Munair Dan Agundi from Kano State, with Hon. Mallam Gana, from Borno State as his Deputy and the Agricultural Production and Services Committee which has Hon. Danduste Muntari from Kastina state as Chairman, with Hon. Olanrewaju Kunle from Ekiti state as his Deputy.

During the inauguration, Hon. Gbajabiamila cautioned the standing committees that “Whatever the judgment of history will be for this 9th House of Representatives, whether for good or not, will depend largely on the conduct and the activities of the committees we are inaugurating today.”

The Speaker stressed that the House leadership had taken time to ensure that members were assigned to committees that fit perfectly with their legislative interests, priorities, experience and skills.

He urged the Ministries, Departments and Agencies of government (MDAs) on cooperation and collaboration, adding that “It is only through our joint efforts that we can meet the objectives of the administration and keep the promises we have made to the Nigerian people.”

He noted that the House of Representatives was resolved to exercise the full authority of the legislature as it relates to the oversight of the MDAs and the purpose is not punitive, neither are the intentions adversarial, but for the furtherance of national development.

The Speaker called on Hon. Ahmed Idris Wuse to give the vote of thanks and the House leader, Alhassan Ado Doguwa to move a motion to adjourn the plenary.


Read Previous

4500 Register For AgricBusiness Africa Growth, Profitability Conference

Read Next

Agriculture: FECA kicks off ‘The Skills for Jobs’ to train 500 youths

Leave a Reply