Seven Federal Colleges of Agriculture Get New Provosts

The Agricultural Research Council of Nigeria (ARCN) has appointed new provosts for seven Federal Colleges of Agriculture.

The Council’s board, after reaching a decision, presented letters of appointment to the new appointees on Tuesday.

The Council also approved the appointment of an Executive Director for the National Veterinary Research Institute (NVRI) Vom.

The new appointees are: Dr. Maryam Mohammed- NVRI Vom; Dr. Fadiyimu- FCA Akure; Dr. Mrs. Augustus- FCA Ibadan; Dr. Gwaram- Kano.

Others include: Dr. Babawo- D/kowa Gombe; Dr. Okoronkwo- FCA Ishiagu; Dr. Owosibo- FCAHPT- Ibadan and Dr. Jude Okpara- FCAHPT Vom.

Executive Secretary of ACRN, Prof Garba Hamidu, who lauded the standard of the appointment process, charged the new provosts on their responsibilities.

A provost is the research and administrative head of the College, in charge of academic and administrative management.

According to Hamidu, the new appointees must strive to ensure the development of the National Agricultural Research System.

ARCN, under the Federal Ministry of Agriculture and Rural Development, coordinates agricultural research activities in Nigeria.


Read Previous

AfDB: Mnuchin Full of Praise Ahead of Presidential Vote

Read Next

Abia Lawmaker to Empower 400 Farmers

Leave a Reply